Live music & arts in the heart of West U in a comfortable, intimate family-friendly atmosphere.

A community outreach program of St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church Contact/Directions.


For all shows, doors open at 7:00pm, and the show starts at 7:30pm (unless otherwise noted). There is never a cover charge (but donations are welcomed). Everyone is invited to come enjoy these performances and musical fellowship time. For more information, send email to: [email protected].

Upcoming Events:

** 2022-23 --> WE'RE CELEBRATING 10 YEARS  OF SHOWS! **

** Thursday, Nov. 03, 2022 **

DAVID RAMIREZ!

David Ramirez

David Ramirez, solo.
Prolific singer and songwriter David Ramirez has earned a large and growing following for his soulful, introspective songs and passionate performances. As a vocalist, he performs with an understated passion that animates his stories of the ups and downs of life and love, and his music is sorrowfully evocative, steeped in country and roots rock tropes while possessing the atmospheric tone of indie rock. -- (Mark Deming / All Music)
---
No cover charge. Donations welcomed: helps with our cost of artist, refreshments, facility — but not required.
Coffee House Live @ St. Andrew's (Presbyterian Church) is located at 5308 Buffalo Speedway near Bissonnet.
Open to all. All ages. Doors 7:00pm. Music at 7:30pm. Free coffee and snacks. Park in lots at intersection of Bissonnet @ Rutgers. Overflow parking available across Bissonnet in the ABC-13 KTRK-TV lot.

** Thursday, Mar. 09, 2023 **

CHUCK PROPHET & The Mission Express!

 

Chuck Prophet & The Mission Express
Chuck and the band were supposed to return to rock our faces off earlier this spring (2022). But, sometimes the best laid plans...
No worries.  We're all set to have the band return in early March 2023 🙂  I've heard 2023's a better year, anyways 🙂
For more information about this band, visit http://www.chuckprophet.com
---
No cover charge. Donations welcomed: helps with our cost of artist, refreshments, facility — but not required.
Coffee House Live @ St. Andrew's (Presbyterian Church) is located at 5308 Buffalo Speedway near Bissonnet.
Open to all. All ages. Doors 7:00pm. Music at 7:30pm. Free coffee and snacks. Park in lots at intersection of Bissonnet @ Rutgers. Overflow parking available across Bissonnet in the ABC-13 KTRK-TV lot.

** Thursday, Mar. 23, 2023 **

SLAID CLEAVES!

 

Slaid Cleaves
In recent years, we've asked many of you: "Who would you like to see/hear at Coffee House Live?"  Without question, the most frequented response has been: "When are you gonna have Slaid Cleaves?"
We now have the answer.  Slaid Cleaves finally graces our stage on March 23, 2023.  Ask and ye shall receive 🙂
For more information about Slaid. visit http://www.slaidcleaves.com
---
No cover charge. Donations welcomed: helps with our cost of artist, refreshments, facility — but not required.
Coffee House Live @ St. Andrew's (Presbyterian Church) is located at 5308 Buffalo Speedway near Bissonnet.
Open to all. All ages. Doors 7:00pm. Music at 7:30pm. Free coffee and snacks. Park in lots at intersection of Bissonnet @ Rutgers. Overflow parking available across Bissonnet in the ABC-13 KTRK-TV lot.

** Thursday, Apr. 20, 2023 **

JOHN PAUL WHITE (The Civil Wars)!

John Paul White (The Civil Wars)
Friends, we recently saw John Paul White perform, as an opener for a seemingly larger act.  We'll freely admit we did not have much exposure or awareness of John Paul, or his (legitimately rock-n-roll reknown) duo work in the past as 1/2 of the duo The Civil Wars.
We see/hear a LOT of live music.  It is very rare that we see something that is ... well ... simply incredible.  Within :15 seconds of his time on stage, our jaws were on the floor.  The power and vocal ability were nothing short of amazing. Stunning, really.
Do NOT miss this one.  You will see and hear a performer that will immediately change you.  I am NOT over-hyping this one.  We are beside ourselves that this 'rock star' level gentleman is coming our way to perform for you, here.
For more information about Slaid. visit http://www.johnpaulwhite.com
---
No cover charge. Donations welcomed: helps with our cost of artist, refreshments, facility — but not required.
Coffee House Live @ St. Andrew's (Presbyterian Church) is located at 5308 Buffalo Speedway near Bissonnet.
Open to all. All ages. Doors 7:00pm. Music at 7:30pm. Free coffee and snacks. Park in lots at intersection of Bissonnet @ Rutgers. Overflow parking available across Bissonnet in the ABC-13 KTRK-TV lot.

** Thursday, May 18, 2023 **

¡NUEVO Musica!

Nuevo Musica
If you happened to see Los Lobos live in Texas during 2022, you experienced their opener -- NUEVO! -- a killer new(ish) guitar- and harmony-vocal-heavy powerhouse of a Texas band that bills itself as "Tejano Soul" and features great players throughout. Do NOT miss this! Loud, fun, and great! For more information about Nuevo! visit http://www.nuevomusica.com.
NUEVO features Dante Schwebel (guitar, of Hacienda), David Jimenez (guitar, The Last Jimenez), Nico Leophonte (drummer for many killer artists/bands), Anthony Farrell (keys, Greyhounds), and Andrew Trube (bass/guitar, Greyhounds).  A true south Texas super group!!
---
No cover charge. Donations welcomed: helps with our cost of artist, refreshments, facility — but not required.
Coffee House Live @ St. Andrew's (Presbyterian Church) is located at 5308 Buffalo Speedway near Bissonnet.
Open to all. All ages. Doors 7:00pm. Music at 7:30pm. Free coffee and snacks. Park in lots at intersection of Bissonnet @ Rutgers. Overflow parking available across Bissonnet in the ABC-13 KTRK-TV lot.

** Thursday, Jun. 22, 2023 **

GRETCHEN PETERS!

Gretchen Peters
Coffee House Live @ St. Andrew's (Houston, TX) is so very pleased to finally present GRETCHEN PETERS, on Thursday, June 22, 2023!
This is Gretchen's final stretch of touring before retiring from the road. DO NOT miss this LAST chance to hear her.
Singer-songwriter, Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee, CMA Song of the Year (Independence Day) and 2x Grammy nominee Gretchen Peters at Coffee House Live at St Andrew's. Special guest Barry Walsh.  For more information, check out: http://www.gretchenpeters.com.
---
No cover charge. Donations welcomed: helps with our cost of artist, refreshments, facility — but not required.
Coffee House Live @ St. Andrew's (Presbyterian Church) is located at 5308 Buffalo Speedway near Bissonnet.
Open to all. All ages. Doors 7:00pm. Music at 7:30pm. Free coffee and snacks. Park in lots at intersection of Bissonnet @ Rutgers. Overflow parking available across Bissonnet in the ABC-13 KTRK-TV lot.
---
Gretchen Peters is among country music's upper echelon of contemporary composers: hit songwriter for George Strait, Etta James, Trisha Yearwood, Martina McBride, Patty Loveless, Shania Twain, Anne Murray, Neil Diamond ... (need we say more?)

Stay tuned for announcements of our other 2023 shows!

FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions

Stay tuned for future events, which should be on occasional THURSDAY evenings. "Like" us on Facebook @ Coffee House Live @ St. Andrews. Typically, doors open at 7:00pm. Entertainment @ 7:30pm sharp!  No cover charge (donations welcome). Open to the public/everyone.

**COVID UPDATE** Masks are now optional on St. Andrew's church campus based on the latest CDC guidance for Harris county.  Please note this additional CDC guidance: "If you are at high risk for severe illness, talk to your healthcare provider about whether you need to wear a mask and take other precautions. Stay up to date with COVID-19 vaccines. Get tested if you have symptoms." Thank you for your cooperation. **

HOW DOES IT WORK?

You remember the date of our next event, and you just come!  It's that simple.  No advance tickets are required (or available).  There is no cover charge...ever! Just come on out and join us.  (donations are welcome -- cash or checks). **RARE EXCEPTION: Ticketed Events at artist request**

WHERE / PARKING

St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church -- in the Warren Family Center.
5308 Buffalo Speedway @ Bissonnet.
(see map for parking behind the church, off of Buffalo Speedway on Rutgers St.)
If our lots are full, overflow parking is usually available directly across Bissonnet in the ABC-13 KTRK-TV parking lot (for most events)

MORE DETAILS

"Coffee House LIVE!" is a community outreach effort of St. Andrew's.  Everyone is welcome!

Several times throughout the year, we will "open" the coffee house for an evening to present live entertainment -- primarily various kinds of eclectic music from bands and/or solo artists, as well as perhaps other forms of entertainment, such as poetry, comedy, etc. We intend to host a variety of local, regional, national, and international artists.  Although this is a church outreach effort, all entertainment is completely secular (not religious-based).

We serve coffee and snacks.  You are also welcome to bring your own food & (non-alcoholic) drink, if desired.

The Warren Family Center (within St. Andrew's) is warmly intimate and acoustically balanced, allowing artists to connect with you -- the audience -- and showcase their talent. Tables and chairs are plentiful, and there is not a bad seat/view in the room.

There is never a cover charge to enter. However, donations (to help offset costs of artists and refreshments) are welcomed. These events are expected to last no longer than 90 minutes or so, providing you an "early evening" distraction.  All ages are welcome, including well behaved kids (and adults).  Children are to be accompanied by an adult.  Please supervise your kiddos, and keep in mind that this is a "listener-focused" room.

At these events, you will also have an opportunity to learn more about St. Andrew's, if you so desire.

Seating is 1st come / 1st served, with doors opening 30 minutes prior to the show.

WHAT SETS US APART

  • Alternative listening venue (family friendly)
  • Intimate concert experience
  • Artists connect with the audience
  • Artist meet n' greet possible
  • Casual, relaxed, and no $ required

OTHER "RULES" AND REQUESTS

We expect that, for most shows, you may photograph and/or record in a limited fashion, as long as it is not disruptive to the patrons or talent.  Some artists MAY impose restrictions on recording/photography -- these details will be posted for each show accordingly.

MORE ABOUT ST. ANDREW'S

St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church is a place where all kinds of people come together for a common journey - a journey of seeking, discovering, knowing and sharing God's love in Jesus Christ. No matter where you are in your own journey with God, even if one hasn't yet begun for you, we would be privileged to walk with you along the way.  More about our beliefs...

COFFEE HOUSE QUESTIONS OR INQUIRIES?

Email [email protected].

Previous Events

Sep. 08, 2022 - Curtis Grimes http://www.curtisgrimes.com.

Aug. 04, 2022 - Eve & The Exiles http://www.eveandtheexiles.com.

May 21, 2022 - (postponed/COVID) The Blasters.

Mar. 10, 2022 - (postponed/COVID) Chuck Prophet & The Mission Express.

Feb. 24, 2022 - (postponed/COVID) Eve & The Exiles.

Dec. 09, 2021 - James McMurtry http://www.jamesmcmurtry.com.

Oct. 07, 2021 - Tony Scalzo & Miles Zuniga of Fastball http://www.fastballtheband.com.

May 27, 2021 – Dana Cooper http://www.danacoopermusic.com.

May 20, 2021 - (James McMurtry) **POSTPONED**

Apr. 22, 2021 – Sue Foley http://www.suefoley.com.

Mar. 15, 2020 – Ken Stringfellow (of The Posies) - special Sunday sanctuary show - http://www.kenstringfellow.com.

Feb. 20, 2020 – Anson Funderburgh http://www.ansonfunderburgh.com with Texas Johhny Boy & Christian Dozzler (and comedy from Andy Huggins).

Nov. 14, 2019 – Jason Eady & Courtney Patton http://www.jasoneady.com & http://www.courtneypatton.com (Max Flinn opened http://www.maxflinn.com).

Oct. 03, 2019 – Del Castillo (trio) http://www.delcastillomusic.com.

Aug. 22, 2019 – Sarah Grace & The Soul http://www.sarahgraceandthesoul.com.

Jun. 27, 2019 – Pat Byrne (with Rich Brotherton) http://www.patbyrne-music.com/.

May 23, 2019 – Dale Watson & His Lone Stars http://www.dalewatson.com.

Mar. 13, 2019 – Jesse Dayton http://www.jessedayton.com.

Feb. 21, 2019 – Sara Hickman http://www.sarahickman.com.

Dec. 13, 2018 – Chuck Prophet & Stephanie Finch http://www.chuckprophet.com.

Nov. 15, 2018 – Jim Lauderdale http://www.jimlauderdalemusic.com.

Sep. 27, 2018 - Ruthie Foster http://www.ruthiefoster.com/

May. 10, 2018 – Johnny Nicholas http://www.johnnynicholasblues.com.

Apr. 05, 2018 – Carolyn Wonderland http://www.carolynwonderland.com.

Feb. 15, 2018 – Bill Carter http://www.billcarterandtheblame.com.

Dec. 06, 2017 – Chuck Prophet & The Mission Express http://www.chuckprophet.com.

Oct. 05, 2017 – Monte Warden & The Dangerous Few! http://www.facebook.com/MonteWardenandTheDangerousFew/.

Aug. 24, 2017 – Guy Forsyth's Hot Nut Riveters http://www.facebook.com/hotnutriveters.

May 11, 2017 – Brave Combo http://www.bravecombo.com.

Mar. 30, 2017 – Terri Hendrix & Lloyd Maines http://www.terrihendrix.com.

Feb. 16, 2017 – Joe Ely http://www.joeely.com (with Jeff Plankenhorn).

Nov. 17, 2016 – Max Baca & Los TexManiacs http://www.facebook.com/texmaniacs.

Oct. 06, 2016 – Dale Watson & His Lone Stars http://www.dalewatson.com.

Aug. 25, 2016 – Radney Foster http://www.radneyfoster.com.

May 14, 2016 – Trout Fishing In America http://www.troutmusic.com, as part of St. Andrew's annual Picnic In The Park.

May 11, 2016 – David De La Garza, of http://www.lamafia.com

Mar. 31, 2016 – Gurf Morlix http://www.gurfmorlix.com

Feb. 18, 2016 – Amber Digby & Midnight Flyer http://www.amberdigby.com

Nov. 19, 2015 – Jimmy LaFave http://www.jimmylafave.com

Oct. 22, 2015 – Rosie Flores http://www.rosieflores.com

Sep. 24, 2015 – Bill Kirchen & Too Much Fun  http://www.billkirchen.com

Jun. 04, 2015 - Jesse Dayton http://www.jessedayton.com (and comedy from http://www.bobbiggerstaff.com)

Mar. 26, 2015 - Guy Forsyth http://www.guyforsyth.com

Dec. 11, 2014 - The Jones Family Singers  http://www.thejonesfamilysingers.com

Sep. 11, 2014 - David Berkeley, NM singer-songwriter http://www.davidberkeley.com

Jun. 19, 2014 - Ezra Charles, "The Story of Boogie Woogie" http://www.ezracharles.com

Mar. 06, 2014 - Darden Smith, Austin singer-songwriter http://www.dardensmith.com

Oct. 24, 2013 - Texas Johnny Boy, featuring Milton Hopkins http://www.texasjohnnyboy.com